It’s Hard To Think Of Titles Sometimes

I almost made a third post yesterday, but then I thought maybe I better wait because I didn’t want to get into the habit of making multiple posts in one day. I mean, my life isn’t -that- exciting, y’know.

Yeah. Mistake.

My brain is like a steel trap that’s rusted. I can’t even begin to pick up the thread of what I was planning to make my third post about today. That’ll learn me. I’ll just write it, and then wait to publish it until the next day. That makes more sense.

Today we went bike shopping (unsuccessfully). We really want to get a couple of cheap bikes and a trailer that we can just ride around on to get back in shape with. Unfortunately, the bike shop we went to wanted an arm and a leg for a bike. We’re not -serious- bikers. I’d be willing to part with a pinkie, but really, $500 for a bike? No thanks.

Back to craigslist we go.

On the upside, the pawn shop we stopped at to look at bikes after that had some super cheap DVD players, so we’re going to get one of those to go with the TV that’s been collecting dust since Mama Hottie gave it to us for Christmas. I need something to play Baby Einstein for Little Man, after all, and the portable DVD player that I bought back in 2005 is starting to show signs of wear. Hey, running Baby Bach on repeat for hours on end for a year will do that. Quite frankly, I’m surprised the thing still runs at all.

Also on the agenda for today was a visit to the eye doctor for new contacts and glasses prescriptions for us. Lately I’ve been having to take my glasses off to read, and it’s been pretty annoying. Of course, vision changes through pregnancy, so the glasses I got in 2007 are now too strong for me. Yippee!

The eye doctor was really funny. He’s a little guy, not much taller than me, and wears bow ties. In fact, his ads actually refer to him as “the bow-tie guy”. He just adored Little Man, who charms people where ever he goes. 

Anyway, I ended up with a trial pair of acuvue advance, because my eyes get real dry and itchy whenever I wear contacts. So far they’re pretty decent (and at a lower prescription than what I had before) but I’m going to be using the peroxide cleaning thing instead of the saline rubs. This should be interesting. Hottie got special contact lenses in a better prescription as well. We’re both relieved that our insurance covers the majority, and that we have tax money to cover the rest. It’s no fun being blind!

We also picked up a new convertible car seat for the Little Man. Honestly, the stroller/carseat combo is great, but the car seat we got with the set is so damn heavy I can barely carry it. Of course, that’s also because I’m a puny wimp, but hey.  I’ll set that up tomorrow and see how it works.

Little Man is doing fantastic at standing now, and he’s starting to feel around on top of the places he can reach. Time to start babyproofing!

Leave a Reply

