In Praise of the Sling

It’s 11:30pm, and my little man has FINALLY fallen asleep. This was a rough evening for us. I’m not sure why today was any different. His fever from the shots was gone, but his poor little legs still have huge bruised spots on them. I’ve been giving him infant pain killer, the non-asprin kind, but he’s learned how to spit it out so I’m never really sure exactly how much he gets.

Anyway, I start the bedtime ritual around 8 as usual, and he happily takes his bath, and happily reads a story with me, and happily nurses until he’s dozed off. Very carefully I edge out of bed, and go back to doing my chores. He wakes up a few minutes later, bright-eyed and bushy tailed as if he’d slept for hours.

I should note that he didn’t take more than a few minutes nap today, so I expected him to be very tired by the evening. Maybe -too- tired.

I play with him for a few minutes and then try the “let him cry it out” technique. Now, I don’t like this technique much because of course who wants to hear their baby screaming? I lasted about 5 minutes.

I laid down with him again. Wash, rinse, repeat. Finally it’s 11pm and he just. won’t. go. to. sleep. I’m starting to feel a little frazzled, his cries are starting to sound a little desperate, and I haven’t gotten anything done that I needed to do.

Finally I break out my sling. I picked up one of these back when he was still only a few days old.  I still think that this is one of the best baby purchases I’ve EVER made. I snuggle him into it. He starts whimper humming again. Finally, after a half hour of shifting my weight from foot to foot while in the kitchen shredding chicken, he falls asleep. Thank goodness.

Leave a Reply

