Four Months and Shots

My little snugglebug is now 4 months old. Time just won’t slow down for me to enjoy him longer. We went to the doctor yesterday for his shots… what an adventure.

Now, I have a phobia of long needles. I can’t look at them or my knees get all rubbery. Sewing needles and the like are fine, and I have two tattoos, go figure. Anyway, the Boy needed to get five shots. FIVE. Ugh. He was fine on the first two, distracted by my keys. I made the mistake of glancing over at the nurse as she was about to do the third shot.

All I could think was “That needle is longer than my son’s leg is wide.”

Then I quickly looked away and tried to keep on my feet and comfort my son who suddenly realized, “Hey! There’s someone stabbing me with inches of sharp pointy metal and then SHOOTING stuff into me!” Fortunately, the nurse is very good and fast, and I was able to sit down and give him a comfort nursing before we left.

Thank goodness for baby tylenol, that’s all I can say. His poor little legs were very uncomfortable for him, and he slept all the way home. He woke up several times during the night, and made some terrific humming-whining noises. Heartbreakingly cute.

Today he has giant welts on his legs. Poor thing.

The doctor kind of threw me for a loop too. “Don’t forget,” he says casually as he’s prodding and listening and checking. “At five months we start solid food.”

Oh. Crap.

Somehow in the midst of all the hubbub of moving and money and everything else, I forgot that my son will be needing more than the boobahs VERY soon.

Do we have a high chair? No. Baby utensils? Uh… no. Baby dishes? Nope. Well what DO we have?

Bibs. We have TONS of bibs.

I’m currently shopping for a high chair and all that other stuff. I have dreams of making my own baby food, but… we’ll see. I still need to get a microwave and food processor. Thank goodness for tax stimulus checks. Damn crappy gas prices though. I hate money.

3 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    May 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Just giving my unasked-for opinion here ๐Ÿ™‚ but I didn’t give either of my kids solid food until they were at least 6 months old. And I didn’t give him any baby food or anything — just table food that they could handle (like boiled carrots). And they’re happy, healthy kids. The way I look at it is, what did they do before Gerber? ‘Cause, y’know, Gerber has only been around for less than 100 years — what did moms do for thousands of years before that?

    Anyway, just my 2 cents! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. serenitygrace said,

    May 6, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    That’s a very good point. I’m reluctant to shell out money for prepackaged food when I can just make it myself, although I have to admit that my scrapbooking self has been eyeballing those little gerber jars for storage :). And I didn’t give my other two kids solid food until 6 months also. But at least it reminded me to get a high chair!

  3. mush said,

    May 7, 2008 at 11:16 am

    I’m presuming Gerber is something that is US specific (either that or I really don’t know much….which is most likely the case), but we are gearing up to feeding solids soon.

    I don’t know when the right time is for feeding solids but our son doesn’t seem to enjoy his milk. Maybe we’ll have better luck with solids.

    PS I’m with you on the money thing.


Leave a Reply

