Sleep is for the sane. Clearly, I’m not one of them.

Last night was a rough night. Not on the part of my son, who slept through the night after he finally passed out after fighting sleep for an hour, but because my insomnia kicked in and I was awake until 5am this morning. Two, perhaps three hours later, I was awoken by the cheerful axe kicking heels of my son on my thigh. At one point I thought he was going to leave bruises. As the DH (that’s dear husband, for those of you not versed in womanly messageboarding shorthand) was getting ready for work, I groggily fumbled through feeding my son and trying to keep him occupied without falling asleep again.

After the DH left, I was able to gather myself enough to put the boy on the changing table, change him, and manage to get myself some breakfast. I was so hungry I thought my stomach was going to eat itself. I should note that right now I am only 20 lbs shy of my pregnancy weight. Although I have happily not gained any, I’m not losing either. I believe I am going to keep track of things here, just so that I can’t use the “out of sight, out of mind” trick on myself.

When dealing with things that you need to change about yourself, the best way to do it, is to do it. Don’t say “On the first I will start…” or “On Monday I will start…” or “On my birthday I will start…” Nike had it right. Just do it. So I will do the same. I will make another post detailing my weight and eating habits. Sure, I could find a diet site and do the same… But then I’d have to pay for it. I’ve heard it only takes 21 days to make a habit. For the sake of my son, and my knees, I’m going to make health a habit.

Speaking of health – Morningstar Farms corn dogs taste EXACTLY THE SAME as real meat corn dogs. They are so tasty it’s hard to believe. Although I am not a vegetarian, I can certainly stand to include more veggies in my life, and this is just one very tasty way. Although, in this case, I will need to wait to change some of my eating habits simply because we can’t afford to do anything else for now. We don’t have a microwave so I have been cooking from scratch a lot more, which I love, but my pantry and fridge are not as well-stocked as I’d like. Such is life, and thank God for Top Ramen.

Back, foul tangent!

After I had breakfast, I laid down with my son again and we slept until the DH got home from his first job (the part time one), right around 2 pm. At that time I was able to say “Here, distract the boy!” while I unloaded and loaded the dishwasher and did a couple loads of laundry. A quick trip to the grocery store later, and now both the DH and the DS are sleeping. I’ll need to make the DH some dinner in a couple of hours when he wakes up to go to his second job (the full-time one), but I’m not feeling very adventurous tonight so I’m making spaghetti, using whole-wheat noodles.

For right now, I have some free time on my hands. This could be spent in many ways. I could play a game on the computer, read a book, doodle, write, scrapbook, pack, or exercise. I could attempt to take a nap, but unfortunately I’m one of those people who need lots of darkness and white noise to fall asleep, both of which are hard to get at 6pm with an already occupied bed. I tried one of those sleep masks, but it was more annoying than helpful. I think what I’m going to do is assemble three boxes, my goal for packing today, and do some crunches. Then I will doodle, and then I will play a game.

Leave a Reply

